top of page
Search

Hong Kong street photography


Having lived in Hong Kong for the past 6 years I have always tried to avoid the hustle and bustle of the cities streets. It's why my family and I decided to live outside of the city in Sai Kung. A beautiful fishing town next top the sea.

My job often takes me all across the city and I regularly finish after dark. Until recently I have solely relied on my full frame Sony A7rii for my photography. However, I had decided to trade in my trusty A6000 back up camera and replaced it with a used Sony A6500 and Sigma 16mm f1.4 (24mm equivelant on full frame). I found having a crop sensor camera with lower sized files worked well for my casual family photo outings. But soon I realised the flexibility of having such a fast aperture in a relatively compact body such as the Sony A6500. I won't go too much into the gear aspect otherwise i'd never get to the point.

As previously mentioned I work all over Hong Kong and often find myself in Mong Kok after work at night, i'm sometimes on Hong Kong Island too where I would usually just head home and spend my time commuting thinking about landscape photography. I've never really gotten into street photography as I find I lack the confidence and know how to create interesting images.

So because of my smaller and lighter set up I decided just to bring my back up camera out with me every day as it easily fits into my backpack. I would go to the usual places where the streets are abuzz with activity and store lights bathe the streets with their artificial glow. I had soon found myself enjoying capturing the chaos around and I wouldn't arrive home until a few hours later than I should have.

Another challenge I found with street or urban photography is how to edit them with such varying lighting and shadows. The example above shows a preset I had made in Adobe Lightroom. It's quite possibly a little overdone but in my mind it's how I see these streets. Like something out of a science fiction movie. Think Blade Runner or Ghost in the Shell. I often tweak other street images to look grittier, perhaps a little too dystopian but I've found it's how I like it to be.

Whenever I had previously traveled into the city I would always bring along a tripod. These days however I rarely go to the city on my time off work. However since switching out some slow glass I was able to handhold most of my new urban photographs (f1.4 sure helps!). However, there are times when you see a scene before you where you would need a longer exposure time.

The examples above were shot using a tiny Manfrotto tripod which I was able to perch precariously on the many railings found on overpasses. All this kit could easily fit into my 20 litre backpack along with my work stuff.

 

Locations

 

I won't go too much into urban Hong Kong locations for photography as I plan to create a video post of all my favourites but below are just a few examples. Nothing special and not hard to find.

Sheung Wan - Lok Ku Street

Mong Kok - Soy Street

Mong Kok - Tung Choi Street

Mong Kok - Ying Chong Street

Central - Des Voeux RD

I hope you have enjoyed this article. It's not my usual genre of photography but it's important to try new things in everything you do.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page